10 popular K-pop bands outside of BTS and Blackpink to follow

The South Korean entertainment industry, while still popular, has reached new heights over the past two years. Whether it’s Parasite’s historic Oscar win for Best Picture or bands like BTS and Blackpink taking the world by storm, Korean entertainment is at the top of its game. BTS notably broke several records and released several number one songs.

Celebrating the height of K-Pop‘s popularity, we’ve brought you a list of popular bands outside of BTS and Blackpink that you absolutely shouldn’t miss. Take a look below:

big Bang

One of the most influential K-Pop groups of all time, the members of BigBang are often referred to as the Kings of K-pop. BigBang was formed by YG Entertainment. They are considered to be one of the first groups to cross their country’s borders and bring K-Pop to the world. The group consists of four members including G-Dragon, Taeyang, TOP and Daesung. Seungri was also another member of the group before his retirement from entertainment in 2019. Some of his biggest tracks include BANG BANG BANG, Loser, Let’s Not Fall in Love, Fantastic Baby, among others.


EXO is a South Korean-Chinese boy group formed by SM Entertainment in 2011 and debuted in 2012. The group consists of nine members including Xiumin, Suho, Lay, Baekhyun, Chen, Chanyeol, DO, Kai and Sehun. . At home, EXO’s popularity is comparable to that of BTS and is in fact seen as a rival by their respective fans. Some of EXO’s most popular tracks include Tempo, Love Shots, Power, Ko Ko Bop, Power, among others.

Read: BTS Was John Cena’s Favorite Band While Filming The Suicide Squad: “Was In A Phase”

Generation of girls

Girls’ Generation, or SNSD, is a girl group from SM Entertainment. The group consists of eight members, namely Yoona, Taeyeon, Sunny, Tiffany, Hyoyeon, Yuri, Sooyoung and Seohyun. Former member Jessica left the group in 2014. One of OG’s girl groups, many members have even established themselves as successful actresses in movies and K-Dramas. Affectionately referred to as The Nation’s Girl Group in South Korea, some of their biggest hits include Gee, Genie, Oh !, I Got a Boy, Mr Taxi, and Run Devil Run. They are also the first group of Asian girls to


GOT7 is a K-Pop boy group formed by JYP Entertainment which debuted in 2014. The group consists of 7 members – Jay B, Mark, Jackson, Jinyoung, Youngjae, BamBam and Yugyeom. The group also conquered the Japanese market with albums released in the language. It’s the most commercially popular track is Just Right, along with other famous songs including Not By the Moon, You Are, Girls Girls Girls, If You Do among others.

Red velvet

Red Velvet is a five-part girl group formed by SM Entertainment. The group is made up of members Irene, Seulgi, Wendy, Yeri and Joy. Last year, they were named the fifth most listened to Korean artists by Spotify. Their hit tracks include Red Flavor, Power Up, Ice Cream Cake, Happiness, Psycho, Bad Boy, among others.


Mamamoo is another very popular K-pop girl group consisting of Solar, Moonbyul, Wheein and Hwasa. They were formed in 2014 by RBW. It is one of the critically acclaimed pop groups that also indulges in other genres like RnB and jazz. Some of their most famous tracks are HIT, Egoistic, AYA, Dingga, Where Are We Now, among others.


TOMORROW X TOGETHER or TXT is a five part boy band formed by Big Hit Music. The group consists of five members – Soobin, Yeonjun, Beomgyu, Taehyun and HueningKai. This group is a relatively new group, having debuted in 2019. Their popular discography includes Angel or Devil, Nap of a Star, Can’t You See Me, Crown, Anti-Romantic, among others.

Read: BTS and Coldplay Release New Single My Universe, ARMYs Call It ‘Touching Your Heart’


NCT, formed by SM Entertainment, which consists of 23 members who are divided into four sub-groups namely NCT ​​U, NCT 127, NCT Dream and WayV. Another group, called NCT-Hollywood, will make their US debut at a later date. The whole group joined together to record two albums, Empathy and Resonance. Some of their popular songs include The 7th Sense, Without You, Baby Don’t Stop, among others.


Seventeen is a boy group formed by Pledis Entertainment in 2015. It consists of 13 members, namely S.Coups, Jeonghan, Joshua, Jun, Hoshi, Wonwoo, Woozi, DK, Mingyu, The8, Seungkwan, Vernon and Dino. While Seventeen often performs as a single group, they are split into three subunits, each with a different area of ​​specialization. These are the Hip-Hop Unit, the Vocal Unit, and the Performance Unit. Their popular songs include Pretty U, Ready to Love, Very Nice, Left and Right among others.


Twice are a K-pop girl group formed by JYP Entertainment. The group has nine members including Nayeon, Jeongyeon, Momo, Sana, Jihyo, Mina, Dahyun, Chaeyoung and Tzuyu. They were formed as part of the reality show Sixteen, which pitted sixteen singers against each other to spot the members of TWICE. Their popular tracks include Cheer Up, Alcohol-Free, What is Love ?, Fancy, Cry For Me, among others.

Read all the latest news, breaking news and coronavirus news here

About Dawn Valle

Check Also

Sasha Fox narrowly misses break dance finale in New York

A Calgary break dancer narrowly missed qualifying for the Red Bull BC One Last Chance …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.